Archive for September 1st, 2007

September 1, 2007

I am Learning. I Think …

Learned me a few things this week –  

IMPENDING DISASTER

The media center of the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM) is expected to host about 100 journalists from all over the world.  It is intended to be a modern, multi-media facility located in the heart of Kampala in close proximity with all the Presidents and the important meeting sites. 

Two months from CHOGM, this is the venue for the media center.

p1100268.jpg 

Three cheers for the Imperial-Royal-Disaster-Waiting-to-Happen Hotel. 

OPULENCE 

The new U.S. Embassy in Iraq is the largest foreign mission headquarters in the world.  It is the size of Vatican City, fully equipped with six apartment blocks, spacious residences for the Ambassador and his deputy, a school, shopping center and a food court.  Also has a cinema, a shopping center and a social club. 

So much for troop withdrawal.  Those guys are planning a whole other country inside Iraq.  More at The Times.

UNSUNG POETS

nalickcdcover.jpg

Her name is Anna Nalick.  I am in love with her.  Her music, that is … before I have gay-bashers burn down my house.  She is brilliant.  I have no idea why I had never heard of her before. 

Breathe (in part) 

… 2 a.m. and I’m still awake, writing a song
If I get it all down on paper, it’s no longer inside of me,
Threatening the life it belongs to
And I feel like I’m naked in front of the crowd
Cause these words are my diary, screaming out loud
And I know that you’ll use them, however you want to

But you can’t jump the track, we’re like cars on a cable,
And life’s like an hourglass, glued to the table
No one can find the rewind button now
Sing it if you understand.
And breathe, just breathe … 

Beautiful.

FALLING IN LOVE WITH OLDER MEN 

Is really very easy.  Especially if is a Hollywood character who I will never meet.

morse_sp188261564_150.jpg 

You know it is a good show if David Morse is in it.  His performance in House M.D., season three, is out of this world.

IDIOT EDITORS 

Uganda’s largest private television station, WBS TV, has a near-imbecile for an editor.  I understand freedom of speech and so on, but what I don’t understand is how the editor of such an important station cannot write coherently, cannot sustain an argument and is published nationally.

p1100283.jpg

 

“There is no clear-cut evidence that cross-generational sex results in HIV/AIDS infections.  There may be some statistics to back the activists, but I contend that these are inconclusive, since infection can occur ‘within generations’ as well as across.”

“What about the growing number of young women who now find themselves single in their mid-30s to early 40s simply because they chose to delay marriage to find some economic stability in their lives? Many are stuck between dating work colleagues, who may be at least 10 years younger, or what I call reconditioned bachelors, the newly single, who may also be 15-25 years older.  Which is worse?”

Eeek! 

GOODBYE SADE, HELLO NAYO 

Sure Sade has a voice that reminds you of the comfort of your mother’s womb, but she’s old news now.

nayo.jpg

Say hello to Nayo.  Another Nigerian chick and she rocks! 

Check out her African Girl track here.

 

 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,494 other followers