Archive for May 22nd, 2008

May 22, 2008

God Save the Queen

Of course I have something to say about the repugnant institutionalization of the suppression of the media by Uganda’s cabinet ministers led by the benevolent leader YKM.

 

Of course I have something to say about the shameless posturing of National Guidance and Information Minister, Kirunda Kivejinja, at a news conference in Kampala today who dared to compare the media in Uganda to the pre-genocide media in Rwanda.  According to him, things have spiraled out of control and tougher regulations are not only necessary, they are mandatory.

 

 

Tags:
May 22, 2008

When Me Hates Me

Why do they hate us?

 

I am trying to wrap my mind around the complex and bizarre xenophobic attacks in South Africa perpetrated by a small, but scary section of the population .  The why, the why, the why … it just doesn’t add up.

 

I know we Africans are as different as the languages we speak and the cultures we represent, but I assumed that we were united by the brotherhood of a continent in upheaval and the spirit of ubuntu.

 

Now, I just don’t know.

 

When I first visited Johannesburg in 1999 as a young reporter covering the All Africa Games, the general dislike of Africans from outside South Africa was evident in some sections of the society.  I was told by several black South Africans about how Nigerians were the cause of the rising drug abuse in the country, how gangs of Zimbabweans – even before the economic crisis there – were behind gun crime, how Mozambicans were pests. However I did not witness any blatant acts of xenophobia. 

 

Or maybe I did.  Maybe the seeds of the past 10 days of violence were sown more than a decade ago.

 

I don’t know.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,494 other followers