Archive for May 23rd, 2008

May 23, 2008

Friday Night Roulette

Fridays.

 

Never for me the joyous ‘Thank God it’s …’ Never for me the relief at the end of a long hard week.  Never for me dancing shoes, the party hat and the little black dress.

 

Fridays are for me the days to stare my humanity in the face and to deal with my latest, greatest addiction: roulette.  Friday Night Roulette.

 

“Spin the wheel Cupid.  Spin it fast and give me a Straight Four.”

 

Straight Four brings me The Toothpick.  He’s a fairly tall, chocolate brown man with a twinkle in his eyes.  He speaks with a smile and laughter is never far from his lips.  He’s a sports jock, but doesn’t burden me with who won the latest football championship and who the world’s greatest rugger is.  When he speaks games, points and players it’s with a lightness that makes it seem like he cares, but he doesn’t care at all.  He’s very attentive and remembers everything I say, but not in a spooky KGBesque way. 

 

I like him.  I like him a lot.  Now if only he would take that toothpick out of his mouth!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,494 other followers