Archive for July 22nd, 2008

July 22, 2008

Africa Reading Challenge VI: ‘Measuring Time’

My workmates are in an uproar because I haven’t combed my hair for the past two weeks.  I don’t understand the hoo-ha.  I keep it clean and it smells like a ‘burst of flowers in summer’ thanks to a new hair care product line I found in Uchumi. With all the evil and injustice in the world, surely uncombed hair is the smallest crime of all.

 

After the meeting this morning, they raised Ushs. 15,000 for me to go to a salon for a makeover.  They beat me down with arguments of ‘what will the clients think’ and ‘the boss can’t look like this’ and ‘your mother would be so sad’ … I smiled sheepishly and said thank you. 

 

And I’m going to spend the money a book.

**********

 

Speaking of workmates, a colleague of mine, Mzee Eichs, has written a book on the Lord’s Resistance Army and Northern Uganda.

 

 

This book is a call to action to help our brothers and sisters in Africa that we can no longer ignore.

 —John Dau, president, John Dau Sudan Foundation, and coauthor, “God Grew Tired of Us: A Memoir”

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,494 other followers