Archive for July 25th, 2008

July 25, 2008

Letter from a Mistress

Note 1:

Commenting on my musings regarding Vice President Gilbert Bukenya’s alleged philandering in the post “Seven Thoughts for Seven Days” Nania says,

… for a person who promotes women’s rights I dont (sic) expect you not to care when a man goes cheating on his wife like she is some sort of stone with no feelings.

 

Empathy or the lack thereof aside, promoting women’s rights is not about defending the sanctity of marriage, but empowering women on either side of the bed to protect themselves against abuse.

 

Note 2:

 

From the July/August 2008 edition of Flair Magazine

 

********** 

 

Dear Wife,

 

Hold your horses.  Don’t take offense.  I don’t consider you to be my wife and calling you ‘wife’ doesn’t imply anything derogatory.  It’s just that you are one of many; many wives, that is.  I don’t know your name, I don’t know what you look like, but because you chose to invade my territory, I have to address you in the manner in which you presented yourself to me: His Wife.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,494 other followers