Archive for January 7th, 2009

January 7, 2009

Bad Journalist, 33, Looking for a Job

“You know, you’ve got a lot to learn about journalism.  Look at it this way.  News is what a chap who doesn’t care much about anything wants to read.”

 

This quote from a seasoned reporter in Evelyn Waugh’s hilarious Scoop could very well describe the philosophy of journalism in Uganda.  You see, in my country, the phenomenon of a thinking journalist is a dying one.  It appears that any semblance of critical thought has been replaced by mediocrity and journalists bhave convinced themselves of the lie that the audience is as dumb as they are.

 

I’m not being harsh.  I too am journalist.  A Ugandan journalist.  I exercise critical thought only on my birthday and public holidays.

 

But seriously.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,494 other followers