Archive for April 1st, 2009

April 1, 2009

Eating Blood, Literally

Yesterday I was introduced to the wonders of dinuguan – a very rich stew made with pig blood.

 

My friend Jabali, a Ugandan via Mombasa via Jakarta, swore that it would be the best thing I had ever eaten.  I was repulsed the idea of eating blood until he reminded me about the thousands of Ugandans who drink raw warm cow’s blood.  He reasoned that if the cattle keeping societies could manage it, so could I.  Plus, he said, although the meal had its roots in Asia, it wasn’t different from similar recipes in Uganda.

 

Turns out dinuguan was the best thing I have eaten in a long, long time.

 

blood-stew1 

 

Jabali simmered lean pork cutlets in onions, garlic, vinegar and soy sauce.  When it was tender, he added the pig blood and simmered it a little more.  He barely put salt in the food and did not season it further because it was already very rich.

 

I loved it.

 

I think I love Jabali too.  Pity he’s married and serious about what’s her face and she loves him too and she’s adorable and … ahh, all the men who can cook and clean and rub my feet are gone … all gone …

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,494 other followers