Oogah Boogah Hiiiiyah!

In the continuing saga of an ignoramus and a priest

A senior British National party official who described the Archbishop of York, John Sentamu, as an “ambitious African” and said his fellow Ugandans threw spears at their enemies is being investigated for making racist remarks

 

Simon Darby insists his comments were not racist.

I don’t see how that is offensive or racist. It can be twisted or distorted to look that way, but what I am saying is factual.

There are lots of indigenous people there [in Uganda] and in the bush they have spears – that is their lifestyle. I am not implying that all Ugandan people use spears at all. I was speaking specifically about the indigenous people. The spear is an integral part of their culture and lifestyle.

 

warrior1Once I’m done with my breakfast of warm buffalo blood and slugs, I’ll shower in the jungle waterfalls outside my cave and smear myself with pig fat.  I’ll think I’ll wear my chicken bone earrings today; they go well with my goat skin skirt and my leopard teeth necklace. 

Then perhaps I’ll join my friend Zamunda on his elephant hunt and help him set warthog traps.  If it rains, I think I’ll stay indoors to compose a wailing dirge to my ancestors in a strange primitive tongue, sharpen my stone flints and send a message on my talking drum to Shakalaka in the next valley. 

In the evening I’ll go dig up a baby’s skull for a game of footie with the neighbors.

It’s gonna be busy, but only after my supper of wild mushrooms, ostrich eggs and giraffe intestines, will I write an appropriate response to Mr. Darby.

 

Have a savage day!

15 Comments to “Oogah Boogah Hiiiiyah!”

  1. I’ve died! Greet Zamunda for us!

  2. we should all get to Darcy, I mean Barby, Darby and cook him in the big pot. We’ll have a swell time dancing around the pot, chanting as he stews. Native style.

  3. “I am not implying that all Ugandan people use spears at all. I was speaking specifically about the indigenous people.”

    Wha…?

  4. Thank you for lessening the sting with your hilarious imagined day in our african bush!

  5. OK, so the BNP may be racist but honestly, I did not ‘hear’ the racism in this case. Was it in the ‘ambitious African’ or ‘Spear-throwing Ugandans?’ I imagine these two exist in Uganda-there are plenty such in Kenya- and still the racist bell doesn’t ring? I’d accuse him of exaggeration instead.

    • Perhaps you are right because the United Nations Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination says:
      “The term racial discrimination shall mean any distinction, exclusion, restriction or preference based on race, colour, descent, or national or ethnic origin which has the purpose or effect of nullifying or impairing the recognition, enjoyment or exercise, on an equal footing, of human rights and fundamental freedoms in the political, economic, social, cultural or any other field of public life.”

      However, you should read Darby’s entire statement. Go on. He’s got a blog that he updates everyday.

      • Alas, I’m officially racist as per the UN Convention definition of racism. Some white dude at work has been (jokingly, may I add?) asking how he can join my tribe and I’ve always been like “No, you can never. You can only be born a Kikuyu”.

        But thanks for the clarification. It appeared to me that there was particular emphasis how racist it was to refer to Dr. Sentamu as an ‘Ambitious African’ as well as the reference to ‘Spear-throwing Ugandans’. Notice Darby mainly defended only the ‘spear-throwing’ reference.

        But still–the popular and politically correct thing to ‘do’ should be get really mad at Darby for any distinction, exclusion, restriction or preference based on race, colour, descent, or national or ethnic origin which has the purpose or effect of nullifying or impairing the recognition, enjoyment or exercise, on an equal footing, of human rights and fundamental freedoms in the political, economic, social, cultural or any other field of public life as far as Dr. John Tucker Mugabi Sentamu is concerned.

        I’m not,bambi.

  6. HAHAHAHAHA
    you’re so funny

  7. reading you sometimes, one feels there’s a reason why words like vindication, revenge, ignoramus, colonialism and chicken-shit are not in Rukiga or any local language; ok maybe not the last one — “mavi ya kuku” can be quite devastating.

  8. @ The Phantom: Or maybe roast him over a spit. That way we get to multitask with our spears, lol

  9. the guy tried to play down his statement (prolly after quite a number of reactions..)..he doesn’t do much to help himself though

  10. Read between the lines. He didn’t mean to say all africans throw spears. What he really meant to say was, .’I hereby insult the Archbishop, and I don’t think much of Africans.’ that’s all. You see? Now it becomes clear that it deserves no more response that a Fuck you and a quick leaving of the room.

  11. you my friend, rock.

  12. Just another Monday, then?

    Good luck with that elephant hunt. I heard they were striking. Something to do with feeling ‘endangered’. Blummin pachyderms, always moaning.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,494 other followers

