Archive for September 6th, 2009

September 6, 2009

The Mzungu is Crazy!

I was the token Ugandan guest a mzungu party today. As I have said before, if it involves free food, I really don’t care. Plus my conversations with non-Ugandans are as bizarre as they are entertaining.

Overheard this afternoon –

“My wife and I are just in the country for two years. We didn’t think it necessary to learn a Ugandan language.”

“The shopping in Uganda is so frustrating! I can’t find cream cheese anywhere!”

“I’ve really traveled around Uganda. I’ve been to Murchison Falls National Park, Queen Elizabeth National Park, Mount Elgon National Park … Everywhere!”

“No, I don’t have any Ugandan friends. It’s been so busy meeting the expat community, helping the women’s group in downtown Kampala and visiting poor families in Pader, it’s so hard to meet locals.”

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,494 other followers